Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.



DOEE Honors 2019 District Sustainability Awards Winners

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

CONTACT: Mike Matthews, Public Information Officer, (202) 536-7666, [email protected]

Inaugural Clean Energy DC Award Presented to American Geophysical Union

WASHINGTON, DC, April 18, 2019 Last night, Department of Energy and Environment (DOEE) Director Tommy Wells honored the seven recipients of this year’s District Sustainability Awards, the 10th running of the region’s preeminent green carpet event.

Winners support the Sustainable DC plan in the areas of clean energy, stormwater retention, green building construction and management, healthy food access, environmental education, and sustainable waste management. This year’s event featured a new award category: Clean Energy DC, to celebrate the historic Clean Energy DC Omnibus legislation Mayor Bowser signed earlier this year.

“I’m proud to honor tonight’s seven awardees, each of whom is playing an important role in making the District a healthier, greener, and more livable,” said DOEE Director Tommy Wells. “Their commitments underscore that what’s good for the environment is good for the economy and the community. These seven recipients exemplify why DC continues to be a leader in clean energy and urban sustainability. On the heels of Mayor Bowser signing the Clean Energy DC Act, one of the nation’s most aggressive and comprehensive climate laws, we are delighted to recognize the American Geophysical Union as the inaugural winner of the Clean Energy DC award.”

 The 2019 District Sustainability Awards winners are:

Questions or comments about the District Sustainability Awards can be directed to Mike Matthews at [email protected] or (202) 536-7666.