Department of Energy & Environment

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Draft 2014 Ambient Air Monitoring Network Plan


Input welcomed on District of Columbia’s 2014 Ambient Air Monitoring Network Assessment and Network Plan

In October 2006, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revised ambient air monitoring regulations. The monitoring regulations require that the District of Columbia adopt and submit an annual monitoring network plan, which establishes and/or maintains an air quality surveillance system, to the EPA. The annual monitoring network plan must be made available for public review for at least 30 days prior to submission to EPA. The District of Columbia’s annual ambient air monitoring network plan is now available below for a 30-day public review. The review period begins on Thursday, May 1, 2014 and ends on Friday, May 30, 2014.

- Attached below is the Draft District of Columbia’s 2014 Ambient Air Monitoring Network Plan

Please submit your comments on the District of Columbia’s air monitoring network plan to:

Ms. Khin Sann Thaung
Environmental Specialist - Monitoring and Assessment Branch

Air Quality Division
District Department of the Environment
1200 First Street, N.E., Fifth Floor
Washington, DC 20002

Email: [email protected]

Background Information

In 1970, the Congress passed the Clean Air Act that authorized EPA to establish National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for pollutants shown to threaten human health and welfare. Primary standards are set according to criteria designed to protect public health, including an adequate margin of safety to protect sensitive populations such as children and asthmatics. Secondary standards are set according to criteria designed to protect public welfare (decreased visibility, damage to crops, vegetation, and buildings).
EPA established NAAQS for six pollutants- ozone (O3), carbon monoxide (CO), sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), lead (Pb), and particulate matter less than 10 microns aerodynamic diameter, (PM10) and less than 2.5 microns (PM2.5). These are commonly known as the “criteria” pollutants. When air quality does not meet the NAAQS, the area is said to be in “non-attainment” with the NAAQS. For more information on air quality and the federal NAAQS, please visit EPA’s website.