Department of Energy & Environment

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Draft 2016 Annual Air Monitoring Network Plan

Friday, May 1, 2015


DDOE Seeks Input on District of Columbia’s 2016 Ambient Air Monitoring Network Assessment and Network Plan

The federal Clean Air Act requires the District Department of the Environment to maintain an air ambient air quality surveillance system in the District of Columbia (District). In October 2006, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) revised the national ambient air monitoring regulations and these regulations require that the District adopt and submit an annual monitoring network plan to the EPA. The annual monitoring network plan must be made available for public review for at least 30 days. As such, the plan is now available in the attachment below for a 30-day public review. The Public review period begins on Friday, May 1, 2015 and ends on Friday, May 29, 2015.

  • Attached below is the Draft District of Columbia’s 2016 Ambient Air Monitoring Network Plan for review.

Please submit your comments on the District’s air monitoring network plan to:

Ms. Khin Sann Thaung
Environmental Specialist - Monitoring and Assessment Branch - Air Quality Division

District Department of the Environment
1200 First Street, N.E., Fifth Floor
Washington, DC 20002

Email: [email protected]

Background Information

In 1970, Congress passed the Clean Air Act which authorized EPA to establish National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for pollutants shown to threaten human health and welfare.  Primary standards are set according to criteria designed to protect public health, including an adequate margin of safety to protect sensitive populations such as children and asthmatics. Secondary standards are set according to criteria designed to protect public welfare (decreased visibility, damage to crops, vegetation, and buildings).

EPA established NAAQS for six pollutants: ozone (O3), carbon monoxide (CO), sulfur dioxide (SO2), nitrogen dioxide (NO2), lead (Pb), and particulate matter less than 10 microns aerodynamic diameter (PM10) and less than 2.5 microns (PM2.5). These are commonly known as the “criteria” pollutants. When air quality does not meet the NAAQS, the area is said to be in “non-attainment” with the NAAQS. For more information on air quality and the federal NAAQS, please visit EPA’s website, or DDOE’s Air Quality main page.