Department of Energy & Environment

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Appliance Efficiency Standards

The Appliance Efficiency Standards were established in the Energy Efficiency Standards Act of 2007, and updated in the Energy Efficiency Standards Amendment Act of 2020. Appliance Efficiency Standards will help the District’s residents & businesses save money on utility bills. The standards also help the District meet the energy & climate goals of the Sustainable DC plan; a 50% reduction in greenhouse gas emissions by 2032.

The Appliance Efficiency Standards cover the following 15 appliance and fixture categories:

  • Air Purifiers
  • Commercial Dishwashers
  • Commercial Fryers
  • Commercial Hot Food Holding Cabinets
  • Commercial Steam Cookers
  • Computers & Computer Monitors
  • Residential kitchen and lavatory faucets, and public lavatory faucets
  • High-Color Rendering Index, low-temperature, & impact resistant fluorescent lamps
  • Portable Electric Spas
  • Residential Ventilating Fans
  • Showerheads
  • Spray-sprinkler bodies
  • State-regulated general service lamps
  • Urinals & Water Closets
  • Water-coolers

More information and guidelines will be coming soon.

If you have question about the Appliance Standards, please contact:
[email protected]

Contact TTY: