Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.



College and University Sustainability Pledge


The original District of Columbia Mayor’s College and University Sustainability Pledge (CUSP) was signed in 2012, becoming a first-of-its-kind compact between a city’s entire higher education sector and its local government to advance sustainability. CUSP is an agreement by the schools to pursue a range of sustainability measures, both on individual campuses and through cross-institutional collaboration and friendly competition.

The pledge was resigned by Mayor Muriel Bowser and eight District universities in 2019. The participating universities meet quarterly to learn from each other and partner on initiatives. The Department of Energy and Environment co-chairs the meetings, alongside a rotating co-chair from one of the universities.

Collectively, the pledge signatories employ more than 25,000 District community members and enroll more than 65,000 students. They significantly contribute to meeting the District’s sustainability goals and developing future sustainability leaders.

Pledge Signatories

The following institutions have signed the pledge:

  • American University
  • The Catholic University of America
  • Gallaudet University
  • The George Washington University
  • Georgetown University
  • Howard University
  • Trinity Washington University
  • University of the District of Columbia

Pledge Language

Click below to view the pledge documents:

Contact TTY: